Adversity: My University


“Sweets are the uses of adversity
Which, like a toad, ugly and venomous
Wears, yet a precious jewel on his head”, wrote the great dramatist of the millennium.
It is very rare and almost impossible that an event can be negative from all points of view, preaches His Holiness the Dalai Lama.
I know, “if you fail to plan, you’re planning to fail” is a famous quotation and I myself did a lot of planning, yet I failed to turn a dream in to a naked reality. May be Lincoln was right to have said; “All of us are the children of conditions, of circumstances, of environment, of education, of acquired habits and heredity moulding men as they are and forever be” and I am one such child of his words.
As a student of Science, dreams of professionalism, I had a lot. I always thought that our life was as colorful as the attire we put on. I never knew that “The Tears” were the only jewel, poor and unfortunate could have had until I, myself was left with nothing but ‘tears’. Tears not for, not achieving my dreams but for not fulfilling the aspirations of my parents and my country who fed, nourished, cherished and made me what I am today.
A wave of emotional turmoil shook me as the Tsunami shook the Asian world. I even started questioning the use of breathing, the fun of a walking soul on earth with a heart and situation like that of mine. Ambition and future were the words that I was fed up thinking about, for you know these words injected the pathogens of insomnia in me.
Life once wrecked all my dream ships on the sharp and harsh rocks of reality.

Now I remember that it was a bright day on which I walked down the heart of Thimphu city with a feeling that mine was a life of nobody’s worth, sooner I touch the feet of God, the better. I just went around the clock tower, for I had none around my wrist. And my stomach had nothing albeit the time was late noon. Just then, a beautiful girl stepped out of a door and my eyes caught ‘DSB’ bookstore. Instantly I decided to go in, not because His Majesty’s enthronement silver jubilee celebrations were on air and DSB offered 15% discount but who else on earth could I spend time with. Racks of books, I met and happen to shake hands with the best selling author Dale Carnegie. “I was in blues because I had no shoes until upon the street I met a man with no feet” spoke Dale. And it was a reflex action that I threw Nu. 100/- and ran out with the book. I know I was mad with happiness. Peace and happiness, for the past days and months in my life never existed. Just two lines of words completely changed not my life, but attitude towards life. It all happened in 10 seconds, but during those 10 seconds, I learned more about how to live ahead than I had learned in the previous 10 years.

My humble request to all those who couldn’t achieve and were unfortunate to hug your dreams with success despite of you being truly in love with your beautiful ambitions: Friends, “just cast your bread upon the waters”— it isn’t by size that you win or fail. It isn’t by the kind of job that you are tagged successful or unsuccessful.
If you aim to win,
You got to loose,
It is all a matter of attitude that you choose,
And the wise part of your brain that you could use.
Dear readers,
Just believe the best,
Ignore the rest,
You will pass the test
To find life’s zest.

All the best!!
